Board Members in the News



The coveted Malama Aina Award is given every three years by the Hawaii Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects. The Friends of the Honolulu Botanical Gardens most recently was awarded this honor, literally translated as “care for the land.” It acknowledged the Friends’ efforts promoting the preservation and enhancement of Hawaii’s landscape. The award was presented at a dinner at the Pacific Club by ASLA members Tom Witten and Brian Wolf and accepted by Paul Weissich, a former director of the Honolulu Botanical Gardens and presently vice-president of the Friends.



Also celebrating at the ASLA Award Dinner are FHBG board members Dana Anne Yee and Heidi Bornhorst, accompanied by Jeannie Yee. Dana was elected to become a member of the National ASLA Council of Fellows.




Longtime Friends’ Board Member, Grace Dixon, (second from the left) received the Hui Mala Award from the Garden Club of Honolulu at their May 2012 meeting. This award is given for outstanding community endeavors that support the goals of the Garden Club. The award reads: For promoting the love of gardening, both civic and private, through organizational leadership and innovative community projects.

Here’s a little of what was said about our amazing Grace:

“Grace has been a driving force in the beautification of Wahiawa. She helped form a volunteer support group at Wahiawa Botanical Garden, which has become an ecological force in that community. She has been president of the Friends of Honolulu Botanical Gardens many times, president of The North Shore Outdoor Circle, and founded the Wahiawa Historical Society which is sponsoring a home landscaping competition which Grace created to beautify the community. She also played a part in the birth of the Wahiawa Pineapple Festival, and she has continued her participation in this entertaining civic event which now draws visitors from all over the island.“

Congratulations, Grace! A much deserved honor. Thank you for all the energy you’ve put into enhancing our island home.

One of the Friends' Trustees, Dana Anne Yee, recently received national recognition for her career as a landscape architect and her many years of continued commitment to the community. Please read what Brian Wolf, has to say:

It brings me great pleasure to announce that our very own, Dana Anne Yee, has just been elected to become a part of the National ASLA Council of Fellows!!! She truly deserves this recognition and we're very proud of her!

Dana Anne Yee was nominated by the Hawaii Chapter in the Service Category. She is among those exceptional landscape architects and related professionals who are able to sustain such a high level of community commitment over an entire career. She has led more than 26 nonprofit-based projects in her 26 years as a welcome presence in the landscape architecture profession. One of Dana's specialties is the design of school and community play areas for economically disadvantaged children. She is steadfast in her belief that natural settings develop healthy, engaged minds, especially in young children. Another of her focuses is preserving the delicate ecosystem of Hawaii, which she advocates to the state senate. Her selfless spirit reflects well on the entire profession. Her BSLA is from UC Davis.

Fellowship is among the highest honors the ASLA bestows on members and recognizes the contributions of these individuals to their profession and society at large based on their works, leadership and management, knowledge, and service. The Fellows-elect will be recognized at the 2012 ASLA Annual Meeting & Expo, September 28, October 1 in Phoenix, Arizona.

Please join me in congratulating Dana on this incredible accomplishment!!

Brian Wolf

Brian is the President of the American Society of Landscape Architects, Hawaii Chapter. He is a project manager at Belt Collins Hawaii, where he specializes in commercial, residential, and institutional landscape design.

Editor's Note: Several of the Friends' board members are members of the American Society of Landscape Architects. In addition to Ms. Yee, Ray Higa, Dave Kumasaka, Paul Weissich and Tom Witten are also members of this professional organization.


About Us |  Our Gardens  |  Events  |  Tours  |   Botanical Links  |  Volunteers  |  Newsletters
HOME  |   Membership   |   Calendar  |  Contact Us

Copyright 2015 - Friends of Honolulu Botanical Garden - all rights reserved